LB Walker Named Ed Block Courage Award Recipient

Per Eagles Media Relations...

Eagles linebacker Joe Walker has been named the recipient of the Philadelphia Eagles 2017 Ed Block Courage Award. The Ed Block Courage Award honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Every fall, all 32 teams conduct a vote which results in each team selecting their Ed Block Courage Award recipient for the year.

Walker suffered a knee injury during the second week of the 2016 preseason that sidelined him for his entire rookie campaign. The 24-year-old linebacker has bounced back as a major special teams contributor for the Eagles in 2017, seeing action in all six contests.

Originally selected by Philadelphia in the seventh round (251st overall) of the 2016 NFL Draft, Walker enjoyed a standout career at the University of Oregon, where he totaled 205 tackles, including 17 for a loss, and five sacks in 40 games (21 starts).

Philadelphia Eagles Ed Block Courage Award Recipients

2017     Joe Walker

2016     Nolan Carroll

2015     Fletcher Cox

2014     Jeremy Maclin

2013     Jason Kelce

2012     Colt Anderson

2011     Mike Patterson

2010     Jason Avant

2009     Michael Vick

2008     Jon Dorenbos

2007     Montae Reagor

2006     Jerome McDougle

2005     Chad Lewis

2004     Derrick Burgess

2003     Correll Buckhalter

2002     Shawn Barber

2001     Duce Staley & Tommy Brasher

2000     Cecil Martin

1999     Mike Mamula

1998     Bobby Taylor

1997     Rhett Hall

1996     Kevin Turner

1995     Charlie Garner

1994     Fred Barnett

1993     Andre Waters

1992     Jerome Brown

1991     David Alexander

1990     Ron Solt

1989     Mike Quick

1988     Wes Hopkins

1987     Gerry Feehery

1986     Jody Schultz

1985     Ron Jaworski

1984     John Spagnola

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

NewsRadio 790 WAEB · Allentown, Easton, Bethlehem's News Station!
Listen Now on iHeartRadio